SUNSHINE BLOGGER AWARD

I am honored to have been chosen by Adventures of a Young Mother to receive the Sunshine Blogger Award.  My mission from the start of Mom Monster has been to spread positivity and acceptance in ‘mom world’.  I am thrilled that I have made a big enough impact to receive an award that is given to bloggers who make you smile and spread joy.  My posts are not about perfection, they are reality.  The reality of motherhood is not always beautiful and joyous-but I’m glad that my vulnerability in revealing my reality of being Mom has brought joy and acceptance to someone.  I  count my blog as a success if it put a smile on just one moms face and to me this is proof I’ve done just that!

Adventures of a Young Mother had these questions for me:

What is your favorite thing about blogging? 

I love being able to reflect on my day to day life with my son.  Being a stay at home mom to a two year old can come with some tedious challenges, the days can feel long.  Blogging helps me reflect on my time with my son each week and gather the positives with the negatives.  We usually end up having way more positive moments, even if the week felt grueling. 

What do you want readers to take away from your blog? 

You are not alone! Motherhood can be isolating but my blog is meant to remind all moms that we are all in the same boat.  Mommin’ ain’t easy! 

What’s the best blogging advice you’ve been given? 

Don’t change your blog to fit the mold of a ‘mommy blogger’-be genuine and real and you’ll never regret what you’re putting out there. 

How many children do you have? 

One for now, currently on the journey of secondary infertility.  Hoping to grow our family soon. 

How old are your little ones?

Karson Lyle was born 01/2015, we share a birthday! He is almost two and a half. 

What makes you happiest as a mother? 

I love watching my son bloom into a little individual.  Watching him master a new skill, or learn a new word is magical to me.  He’s so smart he’s picking up new things every moment, it’s so fun to watch! 

What is the biggest struggle you’ve encountered as a mother? 

The tantrums and emotional irrationality of toddlerdom.  My son turned two in January and I’ve been on my toes ever since.  When I find something that works-his preferences change.  The highs and lows of every day can be exhausting. 

What do you do for ‘me time’ when you get a chance? 

I was born an artist.  I’ve always loved to create and I’m constantly working on endless projects throughout the year.  Any moment of free time I have I am usually keeping my hands busy making something. 

What’s your favorite movie? 

This has always been a really hard question for me to answer.  I love watching movies of all kinds.  If I get to go watch it in the theater I will literally see anything.  My favorite genre is comedy, you can find me giggling at the slapstick humor in movies like Wedding Crashers or The Hangover.  But I’m also an avid fan of kids cartoon movies.  Sometimes I think I’m more into the movie than my son is! 

What is your favorite Date Night?

My husband and I are both extremely busy.  Our week is planned down to the hour, juggling our son between us to make everything work.  The time we both love most together is downtime.  A chance to talk to each other without our son tugging at one of us, or screaming over us.  I’d say the perfect date would be a sunset walk through the park hand in hand, taking our time and enjoying the outdoors. 

What did you get for Mother’s Day? 

A day off! Can you believe it.  My husband gave me the whole day to relax.  I got a massage with my mom, sister, and sister in law;  I napped, I wrote.  It was a perfect day.  My husband also got me a massage for later, Starbucks, and the most beautiful flowers of all time.  He really hit this year out of the ballpark! 

In the spirit of collaboration over competition I will be sharing with you eight of the bloggers who bring a smile to my face.  These bloggers are my choice for the recipients of the Sunshine Blogger Award because they all regularly fill my social feeds with positivity and acceptance.

The Sunshine Blogger Awards go to…..

1. Army Wife with Daughters 

2. Confident Mommy

3. Mamalogues

4. Color Your Health

5. Queen of the Wild Boys

6. My Moxitude

7. Teacher Turned Mom 

8. Lane and Lauren

These eight bloggers bring positivity and joy to the world of motherhood; each in their own unique way.  If the recipients. choose to accept and continue the Sunshine Blogger Award they will select bloggers who they feel shine brightly in their communities, and present them the award in a post on the social media platform of their preference.   This post will also feature the answers to the questions I’d ask these bloggers if we were out for coffee.

These are the questions I have for my Sunshine Bloggers:

1.  Who is your biggest inspiration as a mother?

2. Is your family just starting, growing, or complete?

3.  What is your number one tip for new moms?

4.  What inspires you to share your motherhood journey?

5.  What do you want your readers/subscribers/followers to take away from your blog?

6.  If ’15 year old you’ could see you now, what would she think?

7.  What’s one thing you do just for yourself?

8.  How has sharing your motherhood journey publicly changed you?  Has it?

9.  What’s one show your kids are binging right now, that you know all the characters and songs for?

10.  What’s one moment you felt like an amazing mother?

I hope you all pass on the love to the bloggers who bring Sunshine to your feeds.

Leave a Reply

